Letters From Father Christmas

Letters From Father Christmas

written and illustrated by J.R.R. Tolkien

published by Harper Collins in 1976

IMG_7025

WARNING/SPOILER- REVIEW TO BE READ ONLY BY PARENTS- NOT FOR CHILDREN

It is with great delight that I share this extra special book.  It is a compilation of letters written by the prolific British fantasy writer J.R.R. Tolkien- best known for writing the extremely well known Lord of the Rings, and The Hobbit.

The letters were written over a duration of over  twenty years- from 1920-1943-  Tolkien hand wrote and delicately illustrated these letters to his children- Christopher, John, Michael and Priscilla-  writing as Father Nicholas Christmas.

 

IMG_7027

IMG_7030

This utterly charming collection- warmed my heart over and over again.  It is the perfect book to dip in and out of.  Tolkien lovingly addresses his beloved children and entertains them with wonderful adventures of the creatures of the North Pole-  Father Christmas has fabulous helpers in the Polar Bear, and the cheeky elves- and the snow messengers.

IMG_7031

 

Cliff House

Top of the World

Near the North Pole

Xmas 1925

My dear boys,

I am dreadfully busy this year — it makes my hand more shaky than ever when I think of it — and not very rich. In fact, awful things have been happening, and some of the presents have got spoilt and I haven’t got the North Polar Bear to help me and I have had to move house just before Christmas, so you can imagine what a state everything is in, and you will see why I have a new address, and why I can only write one letter between you both. It all happened like this: one very windy day last November my hood blew off and went and stuck on the top of the North Pole. I told him not to, but the N.P.Bear climbed up to the thin top to get it down — and he did. The pole broke in the middle and fell on the roof of my house, and the N.P.Bear fell through the hole it made into the dining room with my hood over his nose, and all the snow fell off the roof into the house and melted and put out all the fires and ran down into the cellars where I was collecting this year’s presents, and the N.P.Bear’s leg got broken. He is well again now, but I was so cross with him that he says he won’t try to help me again. I expect his temper is hurt, and will be mended by next Christmas. I send you a picture of the accident, and of my new house on the cliffs above the N.P. (with beautiful cellars in the cliffs). If John can’t read my old shaky writing (1925 years old) he must get his father to. When is Michael going to learn to read, and write his own letters to me? Lots of love to you both and Christopher, whose name is rather like mine.

That’s all. Goodbye.

Father Christmas

IMG_7028

This is the perfect book to enjoy with a mug of hot cocoa and I promise it will make you feel festive.  It has been a superb reminder to me about the magic of Christmas and how important it is to carry on family rituals even when I’m feeling lacking in holiday spirit…I’m hoping my children will someday reflect and remember the joy of the little things I liked to take time to do to mark Advent- preparing our hearts for celebrating the Birth of Jesus.

IMG_6988

December 15-  with “Doodle” our elf

 

3 comments

  1. Arulnathan John · December 19, 2015

    Thanks for the sharing! Seems like a wonderful book. Where can I get it?

    Like

    • libbyvine · December 19, 2015

      The National Library board has several copies. I also recommend Book Depository for quick service. This is really a great book- highly recommend it.

      Like

      • arul786 · December 19, 2015

        Thanks Libby! I am sure it is a great book for everyone in the family to read.

        Like

Leave a Reply

