Helping Hands- Loving Hearts

imgres-2

I wanted to share two excellent Picture Books which exemplify LOVE in such an exquisite, yet practical way.

Hands Say Love

by George Shannon and illustrated by Taeeun Yoo

published by Hachette Book Group in 2014

IMG_8125

The most gentle and endearing text make this book an instant classic,  and one you absolutely must have in your personal family library.

IMG_8126

Hands that do all they can do are also saying “I love you.”

IMG_8127

Hands that gently wake you up.

 

This wonderful little book’s text – exhibits – the words to my life’s story and my humble prayer as a mama…hoping that in my small actions of love for my family and my friends, I can show them how much I love and care for them.

Can you tell how much I adore this book…. I really really loved it.

It is something I strive to teach my children-  I urge them to take pride in all the work that they do, wether it might be doing something simple or menial (Like walking the dog or clearing the table) or something more complex (like writing an essay for school- or helping an older person at the supermarket) – I insist that doing your best and making something beautiful brings God pleasure…

Loving and Serving our neighbours are so important.  Loving our family and taking care of those in our vicinity is an easy way to share the Love which Jesus taught us to give freely.   We should seek to serve one another as this was Jesus most important command to us :

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 
John 15:12

IMG_8128

Hands that help the baby walk.

IMG_8129

Wipe a tear.

Hold  you near.

IMG_8131

Play a song.

Clap along.

 

Just gorgeous.  This loving family goes about their day to day activities, serving one another and their community- organising a happy celebration- and enjoying one another. I especially love the cheerful noisiness and everyday quality which made the illustrations so joyful.   This book will make you smile.


 

Hands & Hearts With 15 words in American Sign Language

by Donna Jo Napoli and illustrated by Amy Bates

published by Abrams Books for Young Readers in 2014

IMG_8134.jpg

This book is fresh and fun and deserves to be widely read.  It is a celebration of nature and the joy of being outdoors at the beach.  A song of love between a mother and her daughter.  A beautiful exploration of sign language,   which can be used as a useful form of communication for both hearing and deaf people. Ms. Napoli has contributed some useful resources for further exploration of American Sign Language and several  books at her page here at Swarthmore College- where she studies linguistics.

IMG_8135

Each image is helpfully placed alongside text which imaginatively sets out how one can form the sign for 15 different everyday objects.  For example the above illustration is for the word:  HANDS

IMG_8136

I found this book really fun and playful and I enjoyed trying out the different hand shapes.

Yak Yak hands

Yak Yak Fingers

Telling as we RUN

out the gate down the path

IMG_8139

Funny hands

funny fingers

flutter on the FLOWERS

point at the gulls

IMG_8142

Take my hands

and DANCE  me dizzy

swim me around

fly me to the dunes

 

I’ve been very touched by these wonderful worship songs- which have been interpreted into sign language – by the Rock Church Deaf Ministry

Check out their awesome play list on youtube HERE

 

 

2 comments

  1. Patricia Tilton · February 7, 2016

    Love the diversity in both books. Sweet reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Faraday's Candle · February 7, 2016

    Love and diversity stands out!
    Wonderful share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

