Dealing with Difficult People – Book Review

This fabulous picture book- is one you will want to read multiple times…. It has so many effective strategies for coping with a person who is in a less than cooperative mood… I simply adored this book!

Virginia Wolf

by Kyo Maclear and Isabelle Arsenault

published by Kids Can Press in 2012

 

One day my sister Virginia woke up feeling wolfish.  She made wolf SOUNDS

and did strange things….

 

 

I think virtually every person will distinctly remember coping with having a bad day…or dealing with the fall out of a friend or family members’ blue mood.    Daniel Powter- Bad Day (Music Video)

IMG_8426

 

Having a convenient list of actionable ideas to alleviate GRUMPY GRUMBLES when they strike may be a life saver….  The author provides this handy list (above)  Perhaps you and your little one’s might like to brain storm your families own special list and keep in an accessible place—ours is usually on the FRONT of our Refrigerator.  It might just be some photos of things that make you smile or an actual list….For instance some of my favorite

Bad Mood BUSTERS

images

  1. Read a Book

images-1

2. Get WET- take  a shower or even better soak in a bubble bath

3.  Light some candles( my favorites are  Diptyque or Jo Malone)

4. Take Time out to cuddle our fur babies(Leila and Leo)


IMG_8429

The whole house sank.

Up became down.

Bright became dim.

Glad became gloom.

Thank God- for good friends and family who are willing to bear with us and persevere through our moodiness …. This book has a happy shift when her dear sister, Vanessa, does not give up, but keeps on trying…to break through the bad mood.

I did my best to cheer her up.  I offered her treats.  She wolfed them all down.  But it made no difference.  Nothing pleased her.  Not the cat. Not my violin.  Not even making faces at our brother Thoby.  She pulled up her covers and said,

“LEAVE ME ALONE.”‘

Then she said nothing.

To anybody.

Finally there is a breakthrough….

IMG_8430

I made a garden.

I painted trees and strange candy blossoms and green shoots and frosted cakes.  I painted leaves that said hush in the wind and fruit that squeaked, and slowly I created a place called Bloomsberry. I made it look just the way it sounded.

IMG_8431

My sister woke up.

At first she was too busy howling at the moon to notice what I was doing.

I painted a swing and a ladder that reached up to the window, so that what was down could climb up.  My sister started to pay attention.

IMG_8432

The gorgeous and vibrant illustrations add to the magical quality of this wonderful little book.   Isabelle Arsenault also wrote the excellent Graphic Novel I recently reviewed, Jane, The Fox and Me.

If you would like to explore this topic further another book I would highly recommend is a childhood favorite of mine:

imgres

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

by Judith Viorst

imgres-1

 


 

Readers- I would love to hear from you about Bad Mood BUSTERS- or books you have found helpful to share with your children in terms of offering solutions for coping with moodiness in friends or siblings.

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. paushali · February 21, 2016

    I like the bad mood busters😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • libbyvine · February 21, 2016

      Add some more to my list please!!!! Go for a run…. Drink coffee,

      Like

  2. paushali · February 21, 2016

    Drink coffee, run, listen to happy music, go for a swim, play an instrument😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

